A Literal Disconnect

So, I play a few Facebook games. I’m a nerd, so they’re $100,000 Pyramid, this word game called Picturiffic and Family Feud. There’s sometimes this opportunity to get “Facebook Credits” if you watch commercials. Sometimes you need them to “buy” an episode or whatever. Normally, you need so many of them that the incremental one credit you get for watching a commercial seems silly, but most of the time they’re only 30 seconds long and I can just do something else on the computer for that time.

However, I occasionally run into this one commercial that is 2 minutes long. And from the very first time I saw it, I was shocked and offended. I’ve posted it at the bottom. It’s for a thing called the Halo Living Monument. While I’m not exactly sure what this means/entails, I know that Halo is a first-person shooter video game. I also know that many people get completely hooked on these games and spend a lot of their time with them. I also know, however, that they are NOT real in any way and that the commercial/trailer for this thing … whatever it is, seems pretty ridiculous given that if you’ve chosen to spend days/weeks/months/years? of your life on a video game, then that’s on you. There doesn’t need to be a “living monument” to those hours wasted. It’s not a real “war.”

The fake military dude in the commercial is giving a speech that, save for vague references to maybe some other planets/alien life, could be given about all the men/women serving in our current military/for our current wars. It just seems in poor taste to have a living monument to people wasting time on a video game when there are real people losing life and limb in a real war and ending up on real monuments every day. I had a real bad taste in my mouth after seeing it. You can disconnect if you want to, but let’s not forget the people who have disconnected from their families and may be permanently disconnected from everything in the name of … I don’t know what. Love of their country, trying to get an education, fighting for something they *do* believe in.

Let’s not make silly trailers worshiping fake war and fake soldiers and wasting countless hours shooting fake people and then honoring them with fake monuments. It’s just gross.

3 thoughts on “A Literal Disconnect

  1. I could go into what a groundbreaking game it was and how playing with people all over the globe in real time voice is far more interactive than tweeting every 30 seconds, but i won’t. Instead i’ll say, remains of soldiers being dumped in a landfill and you somehow think the bigger travesity is Master Chief?

  2. Oh, but you did. And doesn’t look like I’m tweeting every 30 seconds, but I will say it’s always hard for me to discuss Twitter with people who really won’t even take the time to really understand what it is — who have already shown such contempt prior to investigation, that they have dismissed it out of hand. I have “in real life” friends — good ones, stand up people who I can count on for things, who mean the world to me — that I met from interacting with them on Twitter. So it’s definitely interactive, no question. It was often the only way that protesters in the Middle East were able to communicate with one another and with the rest of the world at times. So, yeah, I think it’s interactive.

    And .. the soldiers in a landfill? That’s precisely my point. How ridiculous is it to have a living monument to people playing a game about war when we’re dumping our men and women like they’re trash?

  3. Exactly. Have you ever played Halo? Do you know the story and how it depicts both political and religious struggle. The online monument is really original. You upload a picture and you become part of the Master Chief mosaic. Time Newsweek and the like have said Halo has as much cultural significance as Star Wars. I did follow some hollywood types on Twitter until i found out they have assistants posting. And the other aspect? No i don’t care that my neighbor is updating the world on his dingle ball picking.

Leave a Reply

