December 7: Community

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?
(Author: Cali Harris — @caligater)

Okay, the first one is kind of odd. But again, I’m just doing these as they come to mind. So, I really found Craig Ferguson this year. I LOVE his show. I watch it as much as I can. Somehow, I found that there is a large group of people that call themselves the Robot Skeleton Army (RSA) that hang out on Twitter and are rabid @CraigyFerg fans. I guess the RSA thing came from Craig himself at one point. They also talk about hanging out in the “hollowed out volcano,” which also must have come from a show, too.

It’s an interesting group of people. I live vicariously through them, to be honest. I’d say that most of them are maybe 10-15 years older than I am, but that by no means describes them all (there are people much younger than me as well). I’d also say that 95% of them are women. They know everything there is to know about Craig. They know where he’s going to be. They know where he’s been. They’ve seen every episode and know every trivia fact. Sometimes, I just don’t understand how they can be so obsessed with the man, but I reserve judgment, because I know that I’m just happy they’re doing the footwork that I don’t have the time, energy or wherewithal to do. If they do it, I reap the benefits of not having to be so “interested.”

I go back and forth, honestly. Again, sometimes, I learn things that are helpful — how to get tickets or what kind of puppets he uses. But sometimes, I wonder if they are delusional about the kind of relationship they have to him. Sometimes, they get defensive of him when people talk badly about him or when guests act certain ways — in my head, I want to believe they’re taking it all in good fun, but sometimes there’s an air to things that makes me think some of them are just way too serious. They’ve met up in real life and established real-life connections with one another. Then again, I met some of my closest friends over a Tom Robbins list serv, so who the fuck am I to say anything?

As far as what community I’d like to create or connect more deeply with in 2011? Wow. I keep running up against this one. One part of my brain goes to creating something about information/resources for people with manic-depression. And another goes to connecting more deeply with artists, writers, and performers. Who knows. That stuff seems like old news by now. So, that’s the answer to that question.

2 thoughts on “December 7: Community

Leave a Reply

