old friends

Harry: I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. And the thing is, I love you.
Sally: What?
Harry: I love you.
Sally: How do you expect me to respond to this?
Harry: How about you love me too?
Sally: How about I’m leaving.
Harry: Doesn’t what I said mean anything to you?
Sally: I’m sorry Harry, I know it’s New Years Eve, I know you’re feeling lonely, but you just can’t show up here, tell me you love me and expect that to make everything alright. It doesn’t work this way.
Harry: Well how does it work?
Sally: I don’t know but not this way.
Harry: Well how about this way. I love that you get cold when it’s seventy one degrees out, I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich, I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts, I love that after I spend a day with you I can still smell your perfume on my clothes and I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Years Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of the life to start as soon as possible.
Sally: You see, that is just like you Harry. You say things like that and you make it impossible for me to hate you. And I hate you Harry… I really hate you. I hate you.
(They kiss and make up.)
Harry: What does this song mean? For my whole life I don’t know what this song means. I mean, ‘Should old acquaintance be forgot”. Does that mean we should forget old acquaintances or does it mean if we happen to forget them we should remember them, which is not possible because we already forgot them!?
Sally: Well may be it just means that we should remember that we forgot them or something. Anyway it’s about old friends.
(They kiss and make up, once more.)

Harry
(Voice over): The first time we met we hated each other.
Sally (Voice over): No, you didn’t hate me, I hated you.
And the second time we met you didn’t even remember me.
Harry (Voice over): I did too, I remembered you. The
third time we met, we became friends.
Sally (Voice over): We were friends for a long time.
Harry (Voice over): And then we weren’t.
Sally (Voice over): And then we fell in love.
(Harry and Sally on the couch this time.)

Sally: Three months later we got married.
Harry: Yeah it only took three months.
Sally: Twelve years and three months.
Harry: We had this… we had a really wonderful wedding.
Sally: It was a, it really was, it was a wonderful wedding.
Harry: Yeah, we had this enormous coconut cake.
Sally: Huge coconut cake, with the, with the… tiers and this… very rich chocolate sauce on the side.
Harry: Right, ‘cos not everybody like it on the cake ‘cos it makes it very soggy.
Sally: Particularly the coconut, soaks up a lot of that stuff, so you really…. it’s important to keep it on the side.
Harry: Right.
THE END

i just watched this film for the SECOND time tonight. losing my phone has somehow put me in some sort of depressive tail spin, i guess. i needed to take a shower and leave the house, and i did neither today. but watching this film made me think of a lot of things — the same things making me happy and sad? happy because i know what i’ve always known, and sad because i think i’m giving up on ever having them.

i don’t know. i just think i’m finally feeling like i might want to be in a relationship, and i’m worried that the kind of relationship i want to be in may not be available to me or i might not know how to be in it or something. again. worries. depression. i don’t know. overthinking things, perhaps.

but watching this film definitely reinforced things i’ve always thought and wanted. the idea that the person that i’d spend the rest of my life with (if there is such a person) would be my best friend. that they’d be someone who’d give me unconditional love — they’d love me *because* of my faults, rather than in spite of them. that they’d be fine with all the little idiosyncracies and quirks and strange little things that some people just wouldn’t be able to put up with but that are just who i am, to some extent. it reminded me that i’d have to do the same for someone else, too.

and of course, i love meg ryan — she orders food in restaurants *just* like i do.

3 thoughts on “old friends

  1. I’m certain that both an offer of employment and a meaningful relationship will show up at you door any day now. And they will both get there mid-afternoon, ‘cuz they didn’t want to wake you, and won’t mind that you haven’t showered.

    This is a scenario my brother and I used to play out when we were “between gigs”. “Why look for work, it will find me soon enough..” is usually how it started.

  2. It’s amazing how quickly things can change too (for good or for bad really) so you really never know when something is going to happen. Be prepared.

    And focus on what you need to do and really, until I learned that “I am as deserving and capable as everyone else” I couldn’t really get that far.

    You are as deserving and capable as everyone else and you can make this happen for yourself. I promise!

  3. Meg Ryan was in the wax museum yesterday and people had a hard time deciding if it was “live or Memorex”. She be the one person I would want a deserted island because you could light her up and she would burn for years.

Leave a Reply

