WTF?

so, when the acupuncturists aren’t here (we have to listen to spa/chill/instrumental music (?)), i can turn the sirius radio to whatever. for the sake of keeping things sane, we usually have the ‘coffeehouse’ station on. it’s pretty decent for a grrl like me. singer/songwriters, acoustic versions of people’s songs, and lots of cool, low-key cover versions of stuff.

so, the other day i catch a clip of this song’s lyrics (the melody and general tone of it was good) and i’m thinking … he’s not saying what i think he’s saying, right? but when i heard it again today (they definitely have currents and stuff), i had to go look it up:

I just want to take you out and get you drunk so I can have my wicked way with you
I’m just being honest cause I know the other guys are thinking just the same way too
And I’m not gonna lie and say that I will take you out to dance there’s just no chance ‘cause I don’t even like the same music you do
I just wanna have my wicked way with you
So don’t you fight it Cause I know you’re gonna like it
Show me some skin I might bite it
I wanna have my wicked with you.
So I’m not gonna come over and meet your mom and dad
They know that I was bad
And I don’t want to meet your friends or just pretend I like you
And I don’t want to talk about what happened on your favorite tv show
I just want to get you close enough so I can take off all your clothes
And I’m not gonna make you cry or break your heart girl we don’t have the time
I’m just thinking of three hours or more
So I can have my wicked way with you
So don’t you fight it
Don’t knock it ‘til you’ve tried it
Show me some skin I might bite it
I wanna have my wicked way with you
Wicked way with you
My wicked way with you.

“Wicked Way,” Ben Taylor

umm. is that totally incredibly fucked up? there’s booty calls and there’s just sex and there’s just plain fucking, but this is just crass and crude. and what’s worse, he puts it to this nice, acoustic, pop melody. not to mention, the first line is basically saying “i want to rape you.”

WHAT? i don’t know. i think this song is for shit.

Leave a Reply

