#34 I Still Believe

 
God.  This list sometimes makes me wonderfully nostalgic, and other times makes me glad I’ll never have to relive those times again.  This song is a “fuck that, yo” song.  The minute I saw it was next on the list, I could hear the horrible song in my head.  I just remember it being slow and whiny.
 
Basically, the song has a premise most of us can relate to.  Being broken up with someone and hoping that you’ll eventually get back together.  But it’s also a woman who is clearly delusional …  “Each day of my life I’m filled with all the joy I could find/You know that I am not the desparate type/ If there’s one spark of hope left in my grasp/I hold it with both hands. It’s worth the risk of burning to have a second chance”
 
You’re not the desperate type, but you’ll burn to have a second chance?  You need to re-think some things, sister.   According to wiki (link above), the song was actually written by one of the songwriters after a bad breakup she had.  Oh well, still no sympathy here.  This song blows.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Leave a comment